DUI Charges Can Lead To Tough Penalties In Georgia

Being charged with driving under the influence in Georgia can lead to steep fines, losing your driver's license and even jail time. Even for your first DUI conviction, you could face:

  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Jail time of up to a year
  • License suspension for up to a year
  • Community service
  • DUI education

For a second DUI, you could lose your license for up to three years, be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car or undergo treatment for substance abuse. The penalties increase from there. A fourth DUI conviction is charged as a felony, and you could spend up to five years in state prison.

For drivers under age 21, a blood alcohol content of as low as .02 can lead to a loss of licenses and fines. Underage drivers with a BAC of .08 or higher can face the same penalties as adults do.

Mitch Durham Can Help Fight DUI Charges

Attorney Mitch Durham has been helping people charged with DUI offenses for more than 30 years. After a thorough investigation of your situation, it may be possible get the charges dropped or reduced. You may also be able to retain your driving privileges, but you need to act quickly: upon your arrest, you only have 10 days to request an administrative hearing.

Call Today For A Free Consultation

It's important to talk to a lawyer as soon as you can after being charged with DUI. Call 770-427-0743 for a free consultation with Mitch Durham Attorney at Law in Marietta, or send him an email.