What Should I Do After A DUI Arrest?

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), your next steps are important, and acting quickly is essential.

Here are four important things to remember if you are stopped under suspicion of driving under the influence in Georgia.

1. Call a lawyer as soon as you are able to.

Remember that you have the right to an attorney. Try to avoid making any statements to law enforcement before you talk to your lawyer. Law enforcement officers will collect most of the evidence needed to convict someone of drunk driving after pulling them over, in the form of field sobriety tests, Breathalyzer tests and statements.

2. If you refuse a breath test, you risk losing your license.

Georgia has implied consent laws, which means that if a police officer has reason to suspect you have been driving under the influence, you automatically contest to a chemical test of your blood alcohol content. If you refuse a Breathalyzer or other test, you may lose your license for a year, even for your first offense. On your second offense, your license could be suspended for three years.

3. You have 10 days to request a hearing to save your license.

You have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing with the Georgia Department of Driver Services to appeal the suspension of your driver's license. Failure to do so will result in the automatic suspension of your license.

This is different than a criminal hearing in the court system. It is important to get in touch with an attorney right away to make sure you do not miss this deadline to request a hearing.

Call To Discuss How You Can Fight Charges

There are many ways to challenge a DUI charge and protect your license, your finances and your freedom. For knowledgeable guidance after a DUI charge in Georgia, contact Mitch Durham Attorney at Law in Marietta at 770-427-0743.